July 11, 2020

2016 Awards

2016 District 10 American Legion Baseball Postseason Awards

    Following a fast-paced, highly successful 85th season of the most-competitive summer baseball for its age-level in Massachusetts, District 10 American Legion announced today its 6th Annual All-District first- and second-teams as well as its postseason honors and awards.
   For the first time in over a decade, the Wareham Post 220 team ran the table in the District 10 Playoffs with a 4-0 record and captured the 2016 District 10 American Legion Baseball Championship title after defeating Sandwich Post 188 in a 5-3 battle that featured exceptional pitching and equally exceptional clutch-hitting and defense.

As expected, Wareham Post 220 cleaned up in the postseason voting with awards and honors, led by head coach Keith Delgado whose team finished 19-8-1 overall and 15-6-1 during the regular season. For his efforts, Delgado was nearly unanimously voted as the 2016 District 10 Coach of the Year. This season marked Delgado’s first such honor and his first-ever District championship title.
    Delgado is a 1990 graduate and former student-athlete of Old Rochester Regional High School (Mattapoisett, MA) entering his 11th year with the Wareham Post 220 squad. He has twenty-two years of coaching/military experience and currently serves as an Active Duty Airman Bioenvironmental/Industrial Hygiene Technician at Otis Air National Guard Base on Joint Base Cape Cod. He resides in Wareham with his wife Tricia, sons, Ryan and Khai, and daughter Carly.
    With nearly as many votes as his head coach, Wareham Post 220’s Will Hopkins (Rochester, MA/Old Rochester Regional Class of 2017) was named the 2016 District 10 American Legion Most Valuable Player after a stellar campaign with a .459 batting average that included three home runs and three triples. A senior-to-be and baseball star at Old Rochester Regional High School, Hopkins was also selected to play in the 2016 District 10 All-Star Game in early July where he impressed college scouts with a two-run triple.

The voting results for 2016 District 10 American Legion Pitcher of the Year was far tighter than the aforementioned Coach of the Year and Most Valuable Player honors, but again it was Wareham Post 220 that took home the prize with righty Justin Sylvia taking home the honors. Sylvia, a recent Middleboro High School graduate (2016), turned in a gutsy performance in the 2016 District 10 championship game and defeated Sandwich Post 188 to take the title. He went 5-1 on the season with a 2.36 earned run average. The runner-up for pitcher of the year honors was Sylvia’s Wareham Post 220 teammate Sam Bacchiocchi (Freetown, MA/Tabor Academy), a freshman pitcher at Worcester Polytechnic Institute.
    The top vote-getter for District 10 Umpire of the Year was longtime game official Mark Delaney of Centerville, MA who by day is an officer with the Barnstable Police Department. This was the first time Delaney has been selected as Umpire of the Year and he will be honored in November for his selection.
    “Wow,” Delaney said when told of his selection. “What an honor. I’m truly grateful and privileged to work with each and every one (in the district).”
    The 2016 District 10 Silver Slugger batting champion award, which goes to the player with the highest batting average (minimum of 60 at-bats), went to Whitman Post 22’s Nick Spyropoulos (Hanson, MA/Whitman-Hanson High School Class of 2016) who batted .511 with 26 RBI and hammered 10 doubles.

For the fourth time in six years, Barnstable Post 206 head coach and District 10 Athletic Chairman Sean Walsh tallied the most votes for District 10 American Legion Executive of the Year honors. This was the first season Walsh served as commissioner of the district and the 6th year running the District 10 American Legion All-Star game. His Barnstable Post 206 team finished in first place in the East Division and overall during the regular season but went 1-2 in the playoffs.
    “The central mission for American Legion baseball is to foster and promote the best possible baseball competition in the state and we took that mission a step further by expanding the all-star game to include District 6 in a very well-done doubleheader all-star game that featured over 30 college coaches in attendance,” Walsh said. “None of that could have been achieved without Marshfield Post 88’s Brian Murphy and Rockland Post 147’s Thom Roache and Joe Reis behind the scenes.
    “We also expanded both our Junior and Senior Legion baseball franchises this year with great success. This season marked a huge step forward -- in my mind -- with the level of sportsmanship and competitiveness we witnessed, and that all came to fruition with relatively few road blocks or issues.”

2016 District 10 All-District Team


Barnstable Post 206
Michael Knell, SS/1B
Jackson Badot, CF
Gary DiSarcina Jr., 2B
Jake Gleason, LF

Bridgewater Post 223
Zach Nussbaum
Chris Newman

Brockton Post 35
Luke Lewando
Thomas Merrick
Anthony Keniston
Shawn Daxberger

Hanover Post 149
Liam Flynn, RHP/3B
Andrew Carroll, SS
Kyle Sylvester, Infield
Brendan Connolly, OF

Hawkeye AC/East Bridgewater Post 91
Mike Khoury - 2B
Alex Rose - SS
Brandon Jenkins - 1B, OF, LHP
Evan Jenkins - RHP, 1B

Kingston Post 387
Joey Kemlage, LHP
Marshfield Post 88
Eddy Kielty, RHP
Sam Crawford, C
Frank Catanoso, OF
Brendan Calos, C

Orleans Post 308
Nick Perito, OF
Joe Sullivan, OF

Pembroke Post 143
Conor Pijanowski, SS
Zach Simpson, RHP/OF

Plymouth Post 40
Ryan Obin, LHP/1B
Joel Lindberg, 2B/RHP
Andrew Dirito, 3B
Jacob Stasiowski, RF

Rockland Post 147
Harrison Shields, RHP
Mike McPeck, 1B
Chris McHugh, C
James Dolan, 2B/3B

Sandwich Post 188
Drew Boli, OF/1B
Jason Shell, OF
Emmet Kelliher, OF/1B
Tyler Rondeau, SS

Wareham Post 220
Bryant Salkind, Infield
Will Hopkins, OF
Sam Bacchiocchi, RHP
Justin Sylvia, RHP

Whitman Post 22
Tim DeCouto, RHP
Mickey Martell, OF
Brett Spano, OF
Nick Spyropoulos, Infield